Deephouseit Spotlight – DEFSET

Brighton based DEFSET releases Skips, the first single from his forthcoming Content#01 EP on the electronic imprint EMK. The full EP is set for release on the 14th July in digital format.
“This is the first in a series of Content EP’s, where I get to experiment with club focused music. Inspired by doing more djing in clubs and festivals, I wanted to be able to play my own tracks in my sets. My usual work is often introspective and melancholic, which kind of kills the mood, depending on the gig!
This EP is my first attempt at making tracks I want to play in a club, to get people moving rather than thinking. Joyful, dirty, bangers”. DEFSET
Opening the EP with a bubbling 303 bassline, Skips is a straight up acid house number and a dance floor ready heavy hitter. Bathtime23 sees DEFSET create a 4/4 club remix of the original Bathtime track from his Proximity LP. It’s not the first time the track has been remixed, as in 2021 Panorama Bar resident Steffi released her Dubbed Out Boogie Mix. Up next is Wookie which was inspired by DEFSET’s late friend Richard Spive aka DJ Resonator’s track Dis from 1994. Still a firm favourite to this day, DEFSET has recreated the groove from the original whilst adding layers of glitchy, acidic sounds.
Acid funk at its best. Inspired once more by his peers, Default pays homage to John Tejada and concludes the EP in all its acidy goodness.
EMK affiliate, DEFSET’S Content#01 EP follows on from his debut album Proximity in 2021 and A Movement Of Note EP in 2022. Continuing his slew of releases on the label, his latest offering is a four tracker made to get you moving. A departure from his usual sound, Content#01 demonstrates the direct correlation between DEFSET’s creative output and his personal experiences. Whereas, previously his music was darker and pensive due to grief, Content#01 highlights that the producer is emerging from the darkness into a more positive and hopeful mentality.

Mix Tracklist:
1. Nine Points – Azu Tiwaline & Al Wootton
2. Feed Me – DEFSET
3. Black Soil – Na Nich
4. Decide To Be – Fred P
5. Lighten You Up – Aleqs Notal
6. U Rocked My World – The Glimmers
7. Bell Common Tunnel – Tronik Youth
8. Screw Driver – Sleep D
9. Chutney Mayhem – Niv Ast
10. Gypsy – The Organism
11. Cycles – DEFSET
12. Glossy Centre – Wilted Woman

Content#01 artwork