premiere: Cesare Vs. Disorder – Redshift 7 (Opulence)

Artist(s): Various
Title: Ostentatious Vol. 1
Label: Opulence
Catalogue Number: 001

1.) Atelier Francesco – The Moons Landing
2.) Javier Carbello – A Deeper World
3.) Sierra Sam – Per Aspera Ad Astra
4.) Cesare Vs. Disorder – Redshift 7
5.) Vosper – Womb
6.) David Paglia – Gran Dyoor
7.) Guido Schneider & Daniel Dreier – You Can Take Me Home
8.) Jonny Cruz & Cali Lanauze – Equanimity
9.) Pablo Mateo – Seven Days
10.) Alexi Delano & Marc Ashken – Inner City Shift
11.) Lee Jones – Balanta
12.) Rei Calero – Stasis

Jonny Cruz and Cali Lanauze are kicking off their new label, Opulence, with a fantastic Various Artists compilation featuring plenty of talented artists. Some are new to the game, some are more established, but they all help paint a fine picture of what to expect from the label going forwards, and that is deep and atmospheric house and techno.

Jonny Cruz himself has been producing, DJing and providing vocals to great tracks and labels like Cocoon, Touch Of Class, Poker Flat and Vakant for years now. He appears here with a track alongside the label partner Cali Lanauze. They have collaborated before on My Favourite Robot and often curate parties together in Puerto Rico, so it is no suprise that the curation for their track ‘Equanimity’ is right on point.

Atelier Francesco kicks things off with The Moon’s Landing, a deep and atmospheric cut with spacey sounds making for a nice intro. From there the likes of Javier Carballo offer deep techno, Sierra Sam goes all cosmic and tripped out and Vosper get busy on their dubby techno roller Womb.

Some nice vocal laced old school breakbeats from Cesare vs Disorder carry us on and then the likes of the legendary Guido Schneider links with Daniel Drier to great effect. The label bosses Equanimity then gets freaky with some spacey vibes and great synth work, where the latter half touches on more pumping beats from Pablo Mateo, smooth and serene rollers from Alexi Delano & Mark Ashken, rubbery supple grooves from Lee Jones.

This is a fine compilation that sets off this new label in fantastic fashion.